Always In My Heart

Posted: August 15, 2013 in POETRY 1992 - 2012

(The very last poem (in memory of my Nan) that I wrote in 1999 before I started writing again in 2013)

There was no other as great as you,
Kind, sincere honest and true.
I wish you would come back and stay,
As I miss you now you’ve gone away.

I understand your agony and pain,
As I watched your tears fall like the rain.
I know you are watching from above,
Filling our hearts with your warmth and your love.

I know that you are often near,
As to me you were always very dear.
As you look down on me from heaven,
I know someday we’ll be together again.

You gave me strength, the will to live,
And taught me to share the love that I have to give.
In my heart and soul I recall the memories,
Like the autumn wind passing through the trees.

There was no other as special as you,
Kind, sincere, honest and true.
I wish you could come back and stay,
As I miss you now you’ve gone away.

Sometimes it’s hard for me to show my sadness and pain,
As I count down the hours until we can be together again.

© 1999 Allan Dougherty

Leave a Reply

