I Am What I Am

Posted: August 15, 2013 in POETRY 1992 - 2012

I am what I am; you can’t take that away,
Just because I may be gay.
So what if my sexuality is different to you,
I’m happy doing what I want to do.

You may hate me, you may call me names,
And torment me with your twisted games.
I may be gay, but I really don’t wear skirts,
The fact is you bully me and that really hurts.

All I ask is to be treated the same,
Instead of being trapped in this endless game.
To be able to do the things that you do,
And to be treated as equal and well as you.

I want to be me, and not have to hide,
Just because you say “I’m on the other side”.
I don’t want to be mistreated and told that “time will heal”,
I want to be happy and exactly how I want to feel.

I am what I am, you can’t take that away,
Hey, I’m happy being me and being gay.
So what if my sexuality differs to that of you,
I choose to do things that I really want to do.

© 1992 – 1999 Allan Dougherty

Leave a Reply

