Insomnia

Posted: August 15, 2013 in POETRY 1992 - 2012

I can ‘t sleep,
The floorboards creak.
Doors slam,
Other things bang.

The birds start singing,
The distant church bells ringing.
Lights come up, daytime gets nearer,
As the new morning comes it becomes clearer.

Insomnia is what the doctors call it,
A bout of not being able to sleep will hit.
It must be this I confess,
I can ‘t get comfortable, I’m rather restless.

Nothing helps, helps me try and sleep,
So eventually my tiredness will creep.
It may be when I’m at work, or even at play,
It may not come until another day.

I close my eyes and nothing,
I still can hear the church bells ring.
Finally my eyes grow heavy and I start to yawn,
I’m starting to fall asleep,
It’s seven in the morn.

I can ‘t sleep,
The floorboards creak.
Doors slam,
Other things bang.

© 1992 – 1999 Allan Dougherty

Leave a Reply

