The Dream

Posted: August 15, 2013 in POETRY 1992 - 2012

As I sleep I dream,
I dream of a different world,
My world.

In my world I am free,
Free as a bird,
Free to be who I want to be,
Free to do things my way.

Dress how I want to,
Speak how I feel,
Without being corrected or judged,
About the things that I say.
I want people to see things my way,

How I feel, and how I want to live.
No matter what people say,
I’m gonna be me!
In my world I am happy,
And everyone can be themselves.

Without judgement being passed,
Without the fear  of being beaten up,
Because of beliefs, sexuality or race.
Yes I like this world.

But I realize,
The world around me isn’t like this at all.
Maybe one day it will be,
We’ll just have to wait and see.

© 1992 – 1999 Allan Dougherty

Leave a Reply

